Crafty Christmas Decorations

Heather and I love doing crafty things, and she came over last week and brought all kinds of great ideas and supplies for us to do some hand made Christmas decorations. She is going to highlight some of them on her blog, so for now I am just posting pictures of two of the projects we finished.

On this first one, we started with plain cardboard letters ($2 ea at Michaels). We painted the outer edges green and traced the shape of each letter onto the back of decorative paper. We used a glue stick to attach the paper to the letter, and voila! I also added gold rick-rack to the outer edges, but I took the picture before I did that.

This next craft was also a paper craft. First, we cut circles out the size of some lids that I had in the kitchen (around 4 inches). Then we cut 1 1/2 inch by 10 inch long strips and folded them accordian-style to make the next layer. The next layer we just cut a shape and topped it off with a precut chipboard letter. We used hot glue (our best friend!!!) to assemble. Next, we punched tiny holes in the top and bottom of each large circle to thread our ribbon and bells to. We used a washer (from a nut and bolt) attatched to the ribbon at the top to hang it on a nail. n from noelMerrynoel

3 Responses

  1. So cute! Once again, I forgot to take pictures of my latest craft and gave it away before I remembered. I wish that I had something cool and crafty to post. I was thinking, when looking at the noel one you made, instead of buying letters, I could use some of the alphabet magnets I have. That would give me a funky color scheme to work with (should I find time to do this project). 🙂

  2. You’re so dang creative.

  3. I love how your letters look with your angels! I might have to come up with something similar for mine… I’ll post the other project tonight on my blog!

Leave a Reply

