The Anatomy of a Captain’s Uniform

I will be posting Dragon*Con pictures soon, but today I am going to tell you how I made Josh’s Captain James T. Kirk costume. I originally was hoping to find the velour gold fabric that matched Kirk’s exactly but since I came to find out that that fabric does not exist on the face of this earth. So I was really frustrated with that, and started to look for a costume to rent or buy and again hit a brick wall. We almost gave up but I decided I would give a valiant effort of attempting to make one the old fashion way (the thrift-store-make-it-work way!) I should have taken before pictures of each of the items, but since I was not at all sure that it would come together right, it did not occur to me at the time.

I started with finding a black pocketless pair of women’s pants at Salvation Army. I had an armload of candidates, but eventually decided on just one pair and prayed that they would fit him (he was not with me). They fit him perfectly, and just needed to be cut and hemmed to be short and flared around the calves. Then we bought a white long sleeve sueded t-shirt from Goodwill and 2 packages of yellow Rit dye. I used both packages and boil-dyed it on the stove for about 30 minutes and it came out a dark bold yellow. I dried it and boiled almost an entire pack of tea bags and soaked the shirt in that for about an hour and it turned out just the color we wanted.

For the black collar we used a black shirt (also from Goodwill) and machine sewed the collar part to the shirt and cut the rest of the shirt off.

I bought a sheet of black felt and a small strip of wide gold ribbon to make the ensignia. I used fabric glue to attatch the ribbon to the felt and a Sharpie to draw the symbol in the middle of the ensignia. I hand stitched on the patch and the rick-rack for the arms.

The boots required alot of thought. We couldn’t find any laceless boots at the local thrift stores that fit him, so we improvised, which was a lot cheaper anyway. He had an old pair of black dress shoes that he never wears, and I got the idea of using the legs of a pair of leather pants for the rest of the “boot”. I had to sew the leather pant legs to conform with his legs to look like boots. We attached the bottom hemmed part to the shoe with sticky velcro, and voila-homemade boots!

In the end, I think it turned out great. We were both glad we decided to go ahead and give it a try. There was only one other guy that attempted a Star Trek TOS outfit (he was Asian, so I guess he was Sulu), but his shirt was really off (color and fit). Here is a picture of the finished product:

5 Responses

  1. wow! I look freakin’ awesome.

  2. Good job, Lyndsay! This is getting me excited about New Years!

  3. Daniel, “Is that Uncle Josh?”
    Me “Yes.”
    Daniel, “He has black shoes, black pants and a yellow shirt, like Greg!”
    Ha!
    Great costume! You are so creative. It sounds like you guys had a great time!

  4. That is freakin awesome! Where did you find a picture of William Shatner?

  5. As an old Trekkie, I approve this message and the outfit – great job!!! Love the little hair sweep to the side of the face. And, yes, Daniel, James T. Kirk and Greg shop at the same store.

Leave a Reply

