My Favorite “Vintage” movies (60’s-80’s)

Yul Brynner, Steve McQueen
In chronological order:

1. Magnificent Seven (1960) I really love this movie. It stars Yul Brynner, Steve McQueen, Charles Bronson, Eli Wallach, Robert Vaughn, Brad Dexter and James Coburn. It’s set in the old West. These seven gunfighters are hired to protect a Mexican farming village from Banditos (bad Mexican dudes!). A WONDERFUL cast, and a great story.


2. Charade (1963) Starring Cary Grant, Audrey Hepburn, Walter Matthau, and James Coburn. Clever spy movie where the guy gets the girl. I love movies where an older man gets the pretty young woman! I just think it’s so romantic.

3. The Birds (1963) Starring Rod Taylor, Jessica Tandy, Suzanne Pleshette, and Tippi Hedren. Thriller/suspense Hitchcock film. It’s about birds!

4. The Nutty Professor (1963) Starring Jerry Lewis and alot of people I have never heard of. I was introduced to this movie at a very young age and loved it. Steve and I used to watch it alot growing up, it was on a very short parent-approved movie list! Very funny, true to form Jerry Lewis style. Definitely his best movie, in my opinion.

Rex Harrison, Audrey Hepburn
5. My Fair Lady (1964) Starring Rex Harrison (sigh) and Audrey Hepburn. A musical in which a wealthy English linguist agrees to teach a common girl who sells flowers on the street how to speak proper English and other etiquette. I must say that it would have been better had they cast Julie Andrews in the leading lady role. Another one where an older gentleman gets the young woman. Josh refuses to believe that they are in love because he thinks it’s gross!!

5. Sound of Music (1965) Starring Julie Andrews, Christopher Plummer, Richard Haydn and many more! This is definitely my top 10 all time favorite movies. I’ve loved this musical since I was a little girl. A nun-to-be falls in love with an Austrian military captain and his seven children while the Nazi’s try to take over Austria.

6. That Darn Cat (1965) Hayley Mills, Dean Jones, Roddy McDowall. Also affectionately known as “That mmmm Cat” by the Douglas household. When we were growing up we weren’t allowed to say “Darn”! This was by far my favorite movie growing up and I still pop it in occasionally and enjoy it thoroughly! Disney movie where a cat leads the FBI to bankrobbers and kidnappers. Dean Jones is one of my favorite actors.


7. The Ghost and Mr. Chicken (1966) Starring Don Knotts, Dick Sargent, Joan Staley, Liam Redmond. I still laugh and laugh when I watch this one. It’s a mystery/comedy. Lowly newspaper type-setter helps solve a 20 year old murder. I love Don Knotts, even if he does act like Barney Fife in everything he was ever in!

8. Barefoot Executive (1971) Kurt Russell, Harry Morgan, Joe Flynn, Wally Cox, John Ritter. A TV studio mail room worker’s “itty-bitty-barefoot friend” helps to boost his career. Really hilarious!

9. Fiddler on the Roof (1971) Topol, Norma Crane, Leonard Frey, Molly Picon, Paul Mann….. Musical. Russian peasants in the early 1900’s struggle with everyday life and attempt to preserve their devout Jewish traditions but in the end realize that family ties are more important than keeping strict rules.

10.Rocky (1976) Sylvester Stallone, Burt Young. I don’t really think I need to give this one a synopsis, do you? Great movie, discovered it way too late!

11.Star Wars 4,5,6 (1977,80,83) Harrison Ford, Mark Hamil, Carrie Fisher. It’s about a war in a galaxy far far away! Just plain cool. What can I say? If you haven’t seen them, you’re an absolute threat to society.

12.The Goonies (1985) Sean Astin, Josh Brolin, Corey Feldman, Jeff Cohen. I can’t believe I never saw this until this year! This is such a hilarious, well done “treasure hunt” movie. Town misfits try to save their homes from being foreclosed on by the country club building bad guys.


13.Clue (1985) Tim Curry, Christopher Lloyd, Eileen Brennan, Michael McKean, Madeline Kahn….. A great cast! Another movie I was introduced to just this year. This instantly made it into my top 10 all-time favorites. It’s what it sounds like- based on the Clue board game!

14.Back to the Future 1 (1985) That was a good year! Michael J Fox, Christopher Lloyd, Lea Thompson. This is probably Josh’s favorite movie ever. It is one of mine. I never saw it until he made me watch it after we got married and I was captured by it! I always really enjoy Christopher Lloyd, and Michael J Fox too, for that matter. A teenage boy accidentally goes back in time and changes his present life forever (for the better!)


15.Lethal Weapon (1987) Mel Gibson, Danny Glover, Gary Busey. I enjoy all of the Lethal Weapons, but the first is my favorite. A suicidal cop grieves his wife’s death while adjusting to a new (police) partner. Funny and moving.

I thought of several more while I was working on this but I am really tired of typing! So, this isn’t an exhaustive list, but it’s close!

3 Responses

  1. Funny that you have My Fair Lady listed; I just bought the book Pygmalion Tuesday. Did you know that Shaw always maintained that Eliza and Freddy got married and ran a flower shop?

  2. Well, Shaw didn’t know a good ending when he saw one!! 🙂

  3. “1+1+2+1”
    clue is one of my absolute favorite movies 🙂 and i grew up with goonies (the kid i grew up with Loved it, so we watched it often) and loved it.

Leave a Reply

