Solid Rock

We sang this at church today, and it really encouraged me. I love great old hymns like this one.

  1. My hope is built on nothing less
    Than Jesus’ blood and righteousness;
    I dare not trust the sweetest frame,
    But wholly lean on Jesus’ name.

    • Refrain:
      On Christ, the solid Rock, I stand;
      All other ground is sinking sand,
      All other ground is sinking sand.
  2. When darkness veils His lovely face,
    I rest on His unchanging grace;
    In every high and stormy gale,
    My anchor holds within the veil.
  3. His oath, His covenant, His blood
    Support me in the whelming flood;
    When all around my soul gives way,
    He then is all my hope and stay.
  4. When He shall come with trumpet sound,
    Oh, may I then in Him be found;
    Dressed in His righteousness alone,
    Faultless to stand before the throne.
5 Responses

  1. I thought the same thing, Goob. It’s one of my favorite hymns. Not only are the lyrics great, but I really, really appreciated the musical arrangement and delivery (great job, David!!): it treated the material respectfully without having to hip it out. Too often, in the interest of contextualizing old songs, the new version carries us so far away from its original thematic and emotional context that it loses its way. No so, this one. Was this an original arrangement? If not, where did it come from?

    Actually, I enjoyed the whole set this morning. Thanks, guys.

  2. “Not so”

  3. I really appreciated hearing this song on Sunday. Most of the songs that were sung in my church during my childhood are rarely, if ever, sung. For some, it’s good riddance! For others, such as Solid Rock, it’s a treasure that’s been lost and only occasionally “re-discovered.”

  4. I’m so glad that you guys were blessed. I love singing hymns now–I remember a day when they were “so old”. Thanks, Steve. Actually, the arrangement was one that sort of came as we went along (during practice, of course 🙂 ).

  5. (this is totally off-subject)… Z, you got this blog b/c your beloved HGTV was getting axed. But no updates since Monday? You really need to do better than that. Quite frankly, I’m a little bit disappointed. Hope you have a good trip, that you don’t get rained on, and that it’s not too hot, considering the air situation.

Leave a Reply

