“I’m not much on rear window ethics.”

Welcome to my blog site, home to future posts about my life, experiences, household projects, movies, cats (don’t roll your eyes) and various other subjects. Rear Window

My reason for titling this blog as I did was purely to acknowledge a quote from the 1954 Hitchcock movie Rear Window (site’s name sake). “I’m not much on rear window ethics” is a line from the movie that a character says to express her discomfort in spying on neighbors from a window in her boyfriend’s apartment. If you haven’t seen this movie, or even if you have seen it but don’t love it, I suggest watching it (again) soon. The story itself is wonderfully intriguing and twisty, but besides that, the restored color from it’s original Technicolor roots is nothing short of stunning. The colors and lighting and camera angles captivate me every time I watch it. It’s definitely my favorite Hitchcock film. I haven’t seen them all, but I can’t imagine another rivaling my affections for this masterpiece. But anyway, I thought it made for a cool name. I made the header picture from a picture I took of a neat old window in our shop building.

So enough about that! On to another subject entirely, I will soon (March 31st- keep me in your prayers haha) be without my beloved HGTV due to our not continuing service with our current satellite carrier. So I have been exploring other ways to occupy my time and also keep my creative juices flowing, and I think having this blog will help. I hope to be motivated to get more projects done so that I can post about them. I recently bequeathed my old dining table to a good friend of mine and so right now I am working on the solid wood dining room table and 4 chairs that I recently acquired from (my favorite!) Goodwill for just $30. It will require ALOT of time and elbow grease to get the chairs in the condition I want them to be in. They are sturdy but the finishes on them are all wrong. I also have 4 more chairs that I got from my grandmother that will need to be refinished too but will not require nearly as much work. The table, I think, is great as is. So all that will definitely keep me occupied for quite some time.

Well, that’s all for now, folks. Thanks for reading and please come back again!

11 Responses

  1. So glad you now have a blog! Maybe I’ll be able to keep up with your life better now. I like your header for your blog; I keep meaning to do something to mine, but I’m waiting for inspiration (that could take a while!). We should get together and do something soon, and figure out what we’re doing about the “reunion.”

  2. welcome to the world of blogging, my sweet.

  3. Good stuff, Glob! Finally – a chance to say whatever the crap you want and be able to take it back before anyone has a chance to get offended 😀

  4. Just a couple of observations! First, welcome to the wonderful universe of blogging. My wife seems to be the only one left out of the blogerhood. I don’t suspect she’ll join anytime soon…at least not before a little Matt Jr. comes along.

    Second, rear window is a fantastic movie. I really like Hitchcock as well, and find his stories interesting but his use of lighting and camera work most stunning!

    Thirdly, I’d like to congratulate you on using the word bequeathed!! THAT was impressive!!

  5. Welcome to blogging Lyndsay! Man, the number of sites I am reading on a daily basis is getting kind of ridiculous! Either way I look forward to reading your musings. I haven’t been a Hitchcock fan up to this point. It’s not that I don’t like Hitchcock, it’s just that I haven’t sought him out. Rear Window sounds like it would be a great story, so I may have to check it out!

    Oh, and don’t feel bad, Matt. My wife has blogged in the past, and she’s down to one or two posts a year. She’s a part of the “Easter and Christmas” crowd of the blogosphere.

  6. Thank you all for your comments!
    @Heather: Yes, we HAVE to get together soon- what are you doing this weekend?

    @Josh: I love you

    @Matt: It’s OK that Karen hasn’t joined in yet, she’s busier than I am- I only work one day a week, remember? 🙂 That’s awesome that you enjoy Hitchcock! I never knew that about You

    @ Heath: It’s Ok if you just check my blog every OTHER day since I probably won’t be blogging on a daily basis 😉 And YES check out Rear Window! It’s not a creepy Hitchcock movie, just a cool one.

    Is anyone else getting tired of my smiley faces?

  7. OOps, forgot my own brother!-
    @Steve: I was going to go back in and edit my own comment when I realized I forgot to comment back at you, but I figured that since you know how cold and heartless I really am that it wouldn’t matter if I just came out and said I forgot. Now I have to decide if I’m gonna sneak back in here later and delete this before you get home from work to check it… Naah. 😉
    I am kidding though, I love ya Beboyle! (well, you called me Glob!)

  8. I love your new blog! You’re right, Rear Window is a great movie. I can’t wait to read more of your posts. I’m always wondering what’s going on in the mind of Lyndsay Horne 😉

  9. Welcome to the wonderful world of blogging!

    Now… where are the posts about cats? I’m waiting.

  10. I love the header and title. Great job!

Leave a Reply

